and spiritual songs

a quiet search for the great psalms hymns and spiritual songs of our times

As The Deer – Martin Nystrom

with 3 comments

Written in 1984 this is one of the most beautiful American penned pentecostal worship songs.

The opening line comes straight from Psalm 42:1 and the song is a gentle meditation on the deep longing for God that comes from the soul.

Nystrom wrote the song using King James english and by habit I’ve unintentionally adapted the words to sing ‘you’ where I am supposed to sing ‘thee’ every now and then. You’ll have to forgive me! That’s what happens when you sing this stuff a lot on your own.

For me the song is a beautiful example of a song that does not need to be embellished by musical crescendos and slow dramatic builds. You could play this song with a full band or with a guitar and the impact would be exactly the same because the melody and words are so beautifully connected and communicate everything.

It’s worth noting that the song does of course have two extra verses which are clearly and well written – however I’ve always found them a little distracting.

To me there is a poetic completeness in the first verse and chorus that is diminished with the introduction of the ideas developed in the second and third verse.

Perhaps this is unfair? Truth be told a church song’s function (to facilitate worship) is probably more important than the artistic prowess of its craftsmanship and if there is some kind of revelation contained in the extra lyrics then far be it from me to stand in the way of more verses…

I just find when I sing this song I’m so eager to stay in the quiet intimacy created by that first verse that I’m happy to just keep going back to the top.

Anyway – at any rate this is a beautiful song and I challenge you to find another worship song that gets away with singing the word ‘deer’.

Thanks for reading. Turns out there are actually people out there who do. That blows me away.

Say hi any time 😀
B

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi B,
    Thank you for including “As the Deer” on your website. May we always stay in that place of hungering after God and His presence in our lives. – Marty Nystrom, composer of the worship chorus “As the Deer”

    Marty Nystrom

    July 29, 2010 at 12:11 am

  2. I am so completely blessed and blown away to have stumble across your website(s). I found your tumblr, then was directed here…

    This is one of the dearest hymns to me that I have ever heard.

    Thanks for worshipping the Lord. Please don’t stop. Continue with the videos of worship.

    Ever heard the hymn “The Love Of God”?
    It’s beautiful- although wordy…

    Shelby Veneman

    August 2, 2010 at 2:39 pm

  3. I stumbled across this from StumbleUpon and have been so blessed. This song fills me with memories of singing around the fire at my summer camp, and it was exactly what I needed at this moment in my life. Thank you!

    Tracey

    June 15, 2011 at 12:12 pm


Leave a comment